George Washington Series

Original price was: $59.97.Current price is: $53.97.


Updated June 1, 2024 to include Volume 3. Sets will ship approximately July 1, 2024.

The first three books in John Marshall’s 1803 series are now available! See full description below.

Reading level: high school to adult, as well as ambitious, history-loving younger students!


This is our favorite kind of history book to reprint: a history written by someone who was there. In this case, the author was a persona friend, fellow soldier, and fellow founding father of George Washington.

The Life of George Washington, Volumes 1-5, was published by John Marshall between 1804 and 1807. Marshall was uniquely suited to write this biography of our first President. He served under General Washington in the American Revolution, and after the new nation was formed, he was President Washington’s Attorney General. As a personal friend of Washington and a participant in America’s founding, John Marshall gives Americans a front-row seat to the life and service of the father of our country.

The Life of George Washington Volume 1: Prelude to Independence

In this first volume, we have what Marshall calls “an introduction, containing a compendious view of the colonies planted by the English on the continent of north America, from their settlement to the commencement of that war which terminated in their independence.” With scant mention of Washington, it instead sets the stage for his greatness by describing the events of the American colonies from 1495 to 1775. Marshall lays the groundwork for the time when Washington would take his place in history. From the discovery of the North American continent by Cabot, through the various charters and settlements all along the Atlantic coast, to the French and Indian War, and into the American Revolution, Marshall illustrates to readers which events, both large and small, led to the eventual breaking free from Britain.

Alone, it is an incredibly detailed evolution of the American Colonies. As the first part of this 5-volume work, it is a detailed early American history! Read the exciting story of the United States as it evolves from a handful of separate colonies to a united confederacy intent on winning its freedom from a tyrannical monarch.


The Life of George Washington Volume 2: War in the Colonies

The story of George Washington is the story of American independence, and this biography illustrates that perfectly. War in the Colonies is the 2nd volume of The Life of George Washington written by Revolutionary war hero and Supreme Court Justice John Marshall. It spans the years 1732 – 1778, from the birth of Washington to the thick of the war for independence. Having set the stage in Volume 1 (Prelude to Independence) with a history of the colonies, Marshall now focuses on George Washington’s role in those famous events.

Follow Washington from birth through the Battle of Saratoga; from a Major in the British army to Commander-in-Chief of the Continental Army. Read about his role in the French and Indian War, in which his noble character and leadership made him an automatic choice to lead Americans in the Revolution.

Author John Marshall knew George Washington and his family personally. He served under Washington in several Revolutionary battles, and went on to become President Washington’s attorney general. This Life of George Washington draws heavily from Marshall’s personal knowledge, as well as Washington’s personal papers, which were entrusted to him by Bushrod Washington, the President’s nephew.


John Marshall has given Americans a valuable heritage with this history book! This edition, War in the Colonies: The Life of George Washington, Volume 2 by Knowledge Keepers Bookstore is the exact text just as John Marshall published it over 200 years ago. It includes his own generous footnotes and endnotes, as well as new, additional footnotes for occasional clarification of terms; plus you’ll find portraits, historic paintings, and a few maps throughout.

The Life of George Washington Volume 3: Betrayal, Desperation, and Victory

Betrayal, Desperation, & Victory is the third volume of The Life of George Washington written by Revolutionary war hero and Supreme Court Justice John Marshall. It spans the years 1778-1781, from March of 1778 to the end of the war for Independence. Having set the stage in Volumes 1-2, Marshall now focuses on George Washington’s struggle to end and win the war.

Throughout this five-volume biography, Marshall blends historic, factual details with his personal commentary on George Washington’s life and character. In Volume 3, readers will be thrilled to read about the betrayal of Benedict Arnold, the desperation of the continental troops as they suffered continual poverty, mutinies within the ranks, and the amazing victory at Yorktown. John Marshall repeatedly notes when he witnessed many of these events firshand, or interviewed key players like the Marquis de Lafayette and others. The Knowledge Keepers edition includes 27 portraits and drawings + 17 historical maps to bring this original text alive.


Coming soon: Volumes 4 & 5

Additional information

Weight 80 oz
Dimensions 9 × 6 × 3.5 in


There are no reviews yet

Be the first to review “George Washington Series”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like…

  • George Washington bullets quote Unisex Softstyle T-Shirt

    Select options
  • Able and Mighty Men

    Able and Mighty Men

    Read more
  • Don’t Tread on Me Gadsden American Revolution Flag Hooded Sweatshirt

    Select options